CACREP National Accreditation

Department of Counseling, Rehabilitation and Psychometric Services

2015 Coun Rehab Dept Accreditation (1)

The Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) announced that the Department of Counseling, Rehabilitation and Psychometric Services received national accreditation for the Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling programs.  This is one of the most difficult accrediting bodies in Counselor Education.

The CACREP Board of Directors met July 9-11, 2015 for the purpose of rendering accreditation decisions. Two programs housed in the College of Education and Human Development were reviewed under the 2009 CACREP Standards. The Board made the following decisions:

Accredited: Eight-Year Period through October 31, 2023

Accredited: Eight-year Period through October 31, 2023

According to Dr. Carol L. Bobby, CACREP president and CEO, "the above accreditation decisions were based on the Board's extensive review of the self-study documents, the site team's report, and your institution's response to the site team's report. Programs receiving accreditation for an eight-year period deserve to be commended for the work they completed throughout the accreditation process. This is indeed a worthy achievement."

Pictured above from left to right starting on the stage is Dr. Frank Files, Director of the Rehabilitation Counseling Program, Dr. Alfonzo Haralson, with the Clinical Mental Health Program, Dr. Dion Porter, Department Chair and Dr. Nanolla Yazdani, Coordinator of the Psychometry Program. Standing on the floor from left to right is Mrs. Pamela Flowers-Magee, Administrative Assistant, Dr. Chaiqua Harris with the School Counseling Program, Dr. Gloria Dansby-Giles with the School Counseling Program, Dr. Ronica Arnold Branson, Coordinator of the School Counseling Program, Dr. Regina Fults-McMurtery, Coordinator of the Clinical Mental Health Program and CACREP Liaison, Dr. Lakitta Johnson with the clinical Mental Health Program and Coordinator of the William H. Brooks Counseling Laboratory and finally Dr. Gloria Fouche’ who was formally with the former Community Counseling Program but transitioned in 2007, and whose picture is being held by the Department Chair in the stage.