National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSSLHA)


NSSLHA (National Student Speech Language Hearing Association) is a student-run organization that focuses on communication sciences and disorders. This organization is available for all students who are interested in learning more about communication sciences. It also provides Communicative Disorder Majors and Minors to get the chance to meet one another and learn about being a Speech/Language Pathologist and Audiologist. NSSLHA is the only official student association that is recognized by the American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA). Membership is available at the local, state, and national levels. For more information about the state and national levels visit or


Jackson State University Chapters

There are two NSSLHA Chapters on the campus of Jackson State University. 

NSSLHA JSU Undergraduate Chapter

  • o   Caters to the needs of those students enrolled in the B.S. and Post-Bac programs in Communicative Disorders at JSU

NSSLHA JSU Graduate Chapter

  • o   Caters to the needs of those students enrolled in the M.S. Program in Communicative Disorders at JSU

Each chapter is active on campus, and does community service, fundraising, and outreach.


Why join one of JSU’s NSSLHA Chapters?

o   To be a part of a local, state, and national organization.

o   To have a chance to meet other students and faculty in the Communicative Disorders department.

o   To get involved with campus activities 

o   For opportunities for leadership as committee chairs or officers

o   To learn more about our field and department through tours, guest speakers at seminars and meetings, and a state convention.

o   To enjoy social picnics, pizza parties, games, and volunteer opportunities.

o   To help build your resume.

o   To have FUN and win prizes!


If you would like to contact our undergraduate chapter or join NSSLHA please e-mail the Chapter at or the Chapter Advisor, Ms. Whitney Perkins at or (601) 979-1143. 

2016-2017 Undergraduate Officers


2015-2016 Graduate Officers


Victoria Dyson – President

Caroline McCormick – President

Jordan Sawyer – Vice-President

Abigail Tiefel – Vice-President

MyKela Croft – Secretary

Halie McMinn – Secretary

Akemi Jones – Treasurer

Teaonna Rochell – Treasurer

Mikel Jenkins – Historian

ShaRhonda Wingo – Historian

Ashley Wilson – SGA Representative

Committee Chairperson

Committee Chairperson

 – Service Chair

Co-Chair – 


 – Service Chair

 – Scholarship Chair

    Kimberly Barrett – Scholarship Chair


 – Fundraiser Chair

 Tina Dungan – Fundraiser Chair


  – Public Relations Chair

Co-Chair – 

Summer Calhoun – Public Relations Chair


Undergraduate and Graduate Chapter Advisor

 Mrs. Whitney Perkins




Past Sponsored EventsWalk for Apraxia

Upcoming Events

Undergraduate Chapter

  • o   September 24th –  Wellsfest (9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Jamie Fowler Boyll Park on Lakeland Drive)
  • o   September 28th –  Executive Board Meeting
  • o   October 3rd – General Body Meeting
  • o   October 8th – CMDSS Buddy Walk (8:00 am – 1:00 pm) Volunteer: 7:30 a.m.
  • o   October 15th – Alzheimer’s Walk (8:30 a.m. -1:00pm) Volunteer 7:30 a.m.
  • o   October 23-29 – JSU Homecoming Week
  • o   October 27th –  Fall Festival at the Central Mississippi Speech Language Hearing Clinic

Graduate Chapter 

  • o