Faculty


Department of Behavioral and Environmental Health

Dr. Mary Shaw
Department Chair and Professor
(601) 979-3103
Concentration:
mary.shaw@jsums.edu

Dr. Luma Akil
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Environmental and Occupational Health
(601) 979-3105
luma.akil@jsums.edu

Dr. Sophia Leggett
Associate Professor & MPH Program Coordinator
Concentration: Environmental and Occupational Health
(601) 979-8846
sophia.s.leggett@jsums.edu

Dr. Joni Roberts
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-3104
joni.k.roberts@jsums.edu

Dr. Jennifer Sims
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Environmental and Occupational Health
(601) 979-4037
jennifer.n.sims@jsums.edu

Dr. Mohammad Shahbazi
Interim Dean and Professor
School of Public Health
Concentration: Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979- 6387
mohammad.shahbazi@jsums.edu

Dr. Manoj Sharma
Professor
Concentration: Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-8850
manoj.sharma@jsums.edu
 

Department of Communicative Disorders

Dr. Brandi Newkirk-Turner
Department Chair and Associate Professor
(601) 979-8832
brandi.l.newkirk@jsums.edu

Dr. M. LaQuisha Burks
Assistant Professor
(601) 979-8879
m.laquisha.burks@jsums.edu

Dr. Mary Langford-Hall
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator
(601) 979-8826
mary.a.hall@jsums.edu

Dr. Celeste Parker
Assistant Professor and Interim Clinical Coordinator
(601) 979-8877
celeste.r.parker@jsums.edu

Mrs. Whitney Perkins
Clinical Coordinator/Instructor
(601) 979-1433
whitney.d.perkins@jsums.edu

Dr. Betty Sutton
Clinical Assistant Professor
(601) 979-8878
betty.d.sutton@jsums.edu

Dr. Laura Vaughan-Robinson
Visiting Instructor
laura.v.robinson@jsums.edu

 

Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Dr. Marinelle Payton
Department Chair and Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-8817
marinelle.payton@jsums.edu

 Dr. Azad Bhuiyan
Associate Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-8794
azad.r.bhuiyan@jsums.edu

Dr. Sarah Buxbaum
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-8821
sarah.g.buxbaum@jsums.edu

Dr. Jung Lee
Associate Professor
Concentration: Biostatistics
(601) 979-8792
jung.h.lee@jsums.edu

Dr. Anthony Mawson
Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-8797
anthony.r.mawson@jsums.edu

Dr. Vincent Mendy
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-3106
vincent.l.mendy@jsums.edu

Dr. Amal Mitra
Professor
Concentration: Epidemiology
(601) 979-8788
amal.k.mitra@jsums.edu

 

Department of Health Policy and Management/ Healthcare Administration Program

Dr. Joyce Buckner-Brown
Department Chair and Professor
Concentration: Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-4017
joyce.buckner-brown@jsums.edu

Dr. Russell Bennett
Associate Professor and DrPH Program Coordinator
Concentration: Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8822
russell.l.bennett@jsums.edu

Mr. Clarence Johnson
Program Coordinator and
Visiting Instructor/Field Placement Coordinator
Concentration: Healthcare Administration
(601) 979-1270
clarence.johnson@jsums.edu

Dr. Javis Knott
Assistant Professor
Concentration: Healthcare Administration
(601) 979-8791
javis.m.knott@jsums.edu

Dr. Emeka Nwagwu
Professor
Concentration: Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8828
emeka.nwagwu@jsums.edu

Dr. Sule Ochai
Clinical Assistant Professor
Concentration: Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8830
sule.ochai@jsums.edu

Dr. Mustafa Younis
Professor
Concentration: Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8823
mustafa.younis@jsums.edu