SHS Faculty

Russell Bennet, Ph.D., MPH, MS, RN, NEA-BCA
Associate Professor
Health Policy and Management
Interim Program Director
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8822 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
russell.l.bennett@jsums.edu

Azad Bhuiyan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8794 (Office)
601-979-8809 (Fax)
azad.bhuiyan@jsums.edu

David Brown, Ed.D., MA
Assistant Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8852
601-979-8809
david.brown@jsums.edu

Sarah Buxbaum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Health Policy and Management
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8821
601-979-8809
sarah.g.buxbaum@jsums.edu

Carol L. Cannon, M.S., CC-SLP
Instructor and Clinical Coordinator
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-432-6849 (Office)
601-432-6844 (Fax)
carol.l.cannon@jsums.edu

Gerri Cannon-Smith, MD, MPH
Associate Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8849
601-979-8809
gerri.a.cannon-smith@jsums.edu

Olugbemiga T. Ekundayo, MD, DrPH, MPH
Associate Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8791 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
olugbemigia.t.ekundayo@jsums.edu

Mary Langford Hall, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Director
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8826 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)
mary.a.hall@jsums.edu

Clarence Johnson
Interim Program Director
Healthcare Administration
Visiting Instructor, Healthcare Administration
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8826 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
clarence.johnson@jsums.edu

Sophia Leggett, Ph.D., MPH
Associate Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8846
601-979-8809
sophia.s.leggett@jsums.edu

 Jung Hye S. Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8792 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
jung.h.lee@jsums.edu

Anthony A. Mawson, DrPH
Visiting Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8797
601-979-8809
amawsn@gmail.com

Brandi Newkirk-Turner, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor and Graduate Program Director
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8832 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)
brandi.l.newkirk@jsums.edu

`Emeka O.C. Nwagwu, Ph.D.
Professor
Health Policy and Management
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8828 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
emeka.nwagwu@jsums.edu

Sule Ochai, Ph.D., MA, MS
Assistant Professor
Health Policy and Management
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8830 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
sule.ochai@jsums.edu

Celeste R. Parker, SLP.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor and Clinical Supervisor
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8877 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)
celeste.r.parker@jsums.edu

Marinelle Payton, MD, Ph.D., MS, MPH
Interim Assistant Dean
College of Public Service
Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Health Sciences
Director and Principal Investigator, Institute of
Epidemiology and Health Services Research and
Center of Excellence in Minority Health
601-979-8817 (Office)
601-979-8816 (Fax)
marinelle.payton@jsums.edu

Issac Perkins, MD
Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8788 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
issac.perkins@jsums.edu

Nola T. Radford, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, BC-FS
Professor and Clinical Supervisor
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8879 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)
nola.t.radford@jsums.edu

Mohammad Shahbazi, Ph.D., MPH
Interim Executive Director
Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8806
601-979-8809
mohammad.shahbazi@jsums.edu

Betty D. Sutton, Ed.D., CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8878 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)
betty.d.sutton@jsums.edu

Laura Vaughn-Robinson, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Visiting Assistant Professor
Communicative Disorders
School of Health Sciences
601-979-1143 (Office)
601-979-8848 (Fax)

Corey C. Wiggins, Ph.D.,
Visiting Professor
Behavioral and Environmental Health
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8806 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
corey.c.wiggins@jsums.edu

Mustafa Younis, Ph.D.
ProfessorHealth Policy and Management
School of Health Sciences
601-979-8823 (Office)
601-979-8806 (Fax)
mustafa.younis@jsums.edu