Department of History and Philosophy

Faculty

History Faculty:

Azevedo, Dr. Mario
Interim Chair and Professor
Duke University
African History, African American Studies, Epidemiology (Infectious Diseases)
E-mail: mario.j.azevedo@jsums.edu

Bernhardt, Dr. Mark
Associate Professor
University of California, Riverside
United States History, Media History, Film History, Gender and Sexuality Studies
E-mail: mark.a.bernhardt@jsums.edu

Bounds, Mr. Tony
Instructor
Jackson State University
Global History
E-mail: tb.history@yahoo.com

Brockley, Dr. Janice
Associate Professor
Rutgers University
Gender and Family History, History of Disability and Health, American History
E-mail: janice.a.brockley@jsums.edu

Chapman, Dr. Rico
Assistant Professor
Howard University
Africana Studies, African History,  Museum Studies
E-mail: rico.d.chapman@jsums.edu

Christmas, Farah
Instructor
Jackson State University
Global History
E-mail: farah.l.christmas@jsums.edu

Cotton, Joshua
Adjunct Faculty
Jackson State University
Global History
E-mail: joshua.j.cotton@jsums.edu

Davis, Dr. Dernoral
Professor
State University of New York (SUNY)
American History, Afro-American History, Southern History, American Urban History
E-mail: dernoral.davis@jsums.edu

Gardner, Bonnie
Advisor, Instructor
Jackson State University
Global History, American History, United States Educational History
E-mail: bonnie.b.gardner@jsums.edu

Luckett, Dr. Robert
Assistant Professor, Director of the Margaret Walker Alexander National Research Center
University of Georgia
20th Century United States History, Civil Rights Movement, Southern History
E-mail: robert.e.luckett@jsums.edu

Maneck, Dr. Susan
Associate Professor
University of Arizona
Global History, Oriental Studies, Religious Studies, Women's Studies
E-mail: susan.s.maneck@jsums.edu

Roopnarine, Dr. Lomarsh
Associate Professor
University at Albany, State University of New York
Caribbean History, Latin American History
E-mail: lomarsh.roopnarine@jsums.edu

Ross, Tennia
Adjunct Faculty
Jackson State University
Global History
E-mail: tenros@msn.com

Stewart, Dr. Althea
Adjunct Faculty
Jackson State University
World Civilizations, United States History
E-mail: althea.r.stewart@jsums.edu

Thames, Mr. Shannon
Instructor
Jackson State University
20th Century United States History, Global History, Military History
E-mail: shannon.s.thames@jsums.edu

Thurman, Dr. Larry
Adjunct Faculty
Jackson State University
Global History
E-mail: lythurman@jackson.k12.ms.us

Welch, LeAnna
Adjunct Faculty
Jackson State University
Mississippi History, Civil War and Reconstruction, World History
E-mail: leanna.welch@jsums.edu

Philosophy Faculty:

Banks, Barron, M.Div.
Adjunct Instructor, Alumni Chapter Development Specialist
Public Speaking, Program Planning, Public Relations, Community Development
E-mail: barron.banks@jsums.edu

Crump, Dr. Alfonso
Assistant Chair, Associate Professor
Mississippi State University, MS
Logic, Philosophy, Social Statistics and Research
E-mail: alfonso.w.crump@jsums.edu

Holbrook, Dr. Charles
Visiting Professor
Memphis Theological Seminary
Philosophy, Spiritual Counseling, Ministry
E-mail: charles.holbrook@jsums.edu

Geography Faculty:

Thompson, Dr. Brenda
Associate Professor, Director, Center for Student Professional Development
University of Pittsburg
World Geography, Cultural Geography, Geographic Education Consultant, Workshop Development, Student Professional Development
E-mail: brenda.k.thompson@jsums.edu

Staff:

Purry, Valerie
Secretary
E-mail: valerie.a.purry@jsums.edu