Students and faculty win at 2014 AP Awards Banquet

April 27th, 2014 by masscomm



Group APphoto with Fridge








Jackson State mass communications students and faculty were among the winners at this weekend’s Mississippi AP Broadcasters annual awards presentation.  The MAPB honored the state’s best in professional and college broadcast journalism on Saturday evening, April 26, at the Capitol Towers building in downtown Jackson. First, second and third place winners were announced at the banquet.  Juniors Octavius Lawson, Derrick Walton, DaShawna Wright and graduating senior Tiara Lavender won first place in the Best website category for their work for TIger TV.  Graduating senior Crystal Killingsworth took home first place for best radio newscast.  Killingworth has spent the spring semester as an intern at WLEZ radio doing daily news updates.  Senior Kourtney Christopher Paige, who has placed in the last three AP contests, this year placed third in the best radio feature category and received honorable mention in the best newscast radio category.  December 2013 graduate Gabriel Babineaux won 2nd place for a spot news story he did on the JSU-Grambling homecoming game.   Mass Comm faculty Dr. Sunny Fridge, is a frequent contributor for WJSU.  Two of her stories with WJSU news director L.A. Warren won 2nd and third place in the best radio sound and best spot news story categories.  "I am very proud of all of our students and loved collaborating with L.A.," said Fridge, who is also a board member with MAPB.

The MAPB also honored civil rights leader Medgar Evers posthumously as the 2014 MAPB Pioneer.  The award recognizes individuals who have broken color barriers in tv and radio newsrooms across the state.  “Mr. Evers was a true trailblazer for African Americans and the broadcast industry,” said MAPB President and WLOX news director Brad Kessie. The tribute included an inspiring video by retired CBS Correspondent and 2010 MAPB Pioneer honoree Randall Pinkston. The report, which was Pinkston’s final story for CBS, was aired in May 2013 and tells how Medgar Evers made a significant impact on the efforts of African Americans to have a voice on Jackson TV.


Kessie also said many of today’s journalists are not aware it was Evers who fought the WLBT establishment and finally got the forum he desired, so his point of view could be heard on Jackson’s airwaves, or that his efforts paved the way for Pinkston and other African Americans to appear on local stations in Mississippi and across the country.  Pinkston presented The 2014 MAPB Pioneer award, which was accepted by Ever’s wife Mrs. Myrlie Evers-Williams.



































College Competition Results:

Octavis Lawson, Tiara Lavender, Derrick Walton and DaShawna Wright – 1st place Best Website TigerTV

Crystal Killingsworth  1st place best newscast- RADIO-  Daily news on WLEZ

Kourtney C. Paige honorable mention best newscast – WJSU Radio

Kourtney C. Paige 3rd place best feature WJSU Radio

Professional: Radio

Dr. Sunny Fridge, L.A. Warren and Kourtney C. Paige- 2nd place- Best Sound – “2013 Year in Review”.

Gabriel Babineaux, L.A. Warren and Dale Morris- 2nd place WJSU Radio- JSU Grambling Homecoming Game

Dr. Sunny Fridge, LA Warren – 3rd place spot news story WJSU Radio for an interview conducted via phone with JSU alumnus Dr. Sitole in South Africa on reaction of the death of Former South Africa President Nelson Mandela.

Dr. Robert Franklin and L.A. Warren – 3rd place  WJSU for Best Documentary or stories.

For a complete list of AP winners click here.


Posted in Award, Faculty, News, Students