Faculty/Staff

Welcome to the JSU Department of Music Faculty and Staff. In this section you will find a list of faculty sorted by various categories. The list below also includes links to faculty profiles. To locate a member select from the items below.

 

Interim Chair

JSU_Lisa Beckley-Roberts_Chair picDr. Lisa Beckley-Roberts
Assistant Professor of Music
Interim Chair, Musicology 
Email: lisa.m.beckley-roberts@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2142
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Main Office

 

 

 

 

Faculty

JSU_david-akombo_108x145Dr. David Akombo
Associate Professor of Music
Music Education
Email: david.o.akombo@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2584
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 19

 

JSU_d bishop_108x145 smallDr. Darcie Bishop
Associate Professor of Music
Trumpet
Interim Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
Email: darcie.bishop@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2455
Location: H.P. Jacobs Administration Tower
1st Floor

 

JSU_Alfred Duckett2_100x135Dr. Alfred Duckett
Associate Professor of Music
Conducting
Email: alfred.c.duckett@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.4018
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 10

 

 

JSU_Ivan Elezovic_108x145 smallDr. Ivan Elezovic
Associate Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music Theory and Composition
Email: ivan.elezovic@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.0834
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 5

 

JSU_Loretta Galbreath_108x145 smallDr. Loretta Galbreath
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Assistant Director of Choral Activities
Email: loretta.j.galbreath@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2887
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 4

 

JSU_Lowell Hollinger_108x145 smallMr. Lowell Hollinger
Instructor of Music – Woodwinds
Associate Director of Symphonic and Concert Bands
Email: lowell.a.hollinger@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.7065
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 8

 

JSU_Phyllis Lewis–Hale_108x145 smallDr. Phyllis Lewis–Hale
Instructor of Music
Director of Opera Workshop
Email: phyllis.a.lewis_hale@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2984
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 2

 

JSU_Shawn Leopard_108x145Ms. Shawn Leopard
Instructor of Music – Pianist/ Harpsichordist
Music Librarian 
Email: shawn.l.leopard@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2142
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 6

 

 

 

JSU_Roderick Little_108x145 smallMr. Roderick Little
Instructor of Music
Marching Band Director, Percussion
Email: roderick.d.little@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.7063
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 9

 

JSU_David Mahloch_108x145 smallDr. David Mahloch
Instructor of Music
Music Theory
Email: david.j.mahloch@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 14

 

JSU_Patrick Rettger_108x145 smallDr. Patrick Rettger
Instructor of Music
Tuba and Euphonium
Email: patrick.c.rettger@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.1057
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 13


Mr. Dowell Taylor
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Band/ Music Technology
Email: dowell.t.taylor@jsums.edu
Phone: 601-979-7057
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 21

 

JSU_Russell Thomas_108x145 smallDr. Russell Thomas
Professor of Music
Director of Jazz Studies
Email: russell.thomas@jsums.edu
Phone: 601-979-2574
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 11

 

JSU_Rodney Vaughn_108x145 smallMr. Rodney Vaughn
Instructor of Music
Voice
Email: rodney.v.vaughn@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2891
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 3

 

 

JSU_David Ware_108x145 smallDr. David N. Ware
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
Trumpet
Email: david.n.ware@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2886
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 18

 

 

 

Staff

Mr. Ramon Jackson
Music Director of Musical Activities/ Administrative Assistant Email: ramon.l.jackson@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F. D. Hall Music Center
Main Office

 

 

JSU_Courtney Lett_108x145 smallMs. Courtney Lett
Administrative Assistant/Band
Advisor of Tau Beta Sigma
Email: courtney.l.lett@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Band Hall

 

 

JSU_Jerry C Smith_108x145 smallMr. Jerry C. Smith
Staff Accompanist
Email: jerry.c.smith@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 1