Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Jackson State University Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) has the charge of reviewing and approving recombinant DNA research and biohazard projects. All recombinant DNA research at JSU, regardless of funding source, must be conducted in accordance with the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules and the use of infectious micro-organisms in research, teaching and the handling of infectious waste disposal.

The Biosafety website serves as a helpful reference and guide to facilitate compliance with Biosafety related practices, institutional policies, and governmental regulations.

All questions pertaining to Biosafety should be directed to Research Compliance at  (601) 979-2859.

Biosafety Application Form












Dr. Stephen Ekunwe | Associate Professor of Biology (CHAIR) | E-mail |  601-979-3476





Michael Early | Research Compliance Officer | E-mail |  (601) 979-2859





Dr. Ernest Izevbigie | Associate Professor of Biology | E-mail |  601-979-3464





Ms. LaShinda Lawson | Hazardous Materials Officers | E-mail |  601-979-4315





Mr. Alfred Martin | Environmental Management Plus |  601-922-1919





Ms. Willa Watson | Environmental Specialist/MS Military | E-mail |  601-313-6139





Dr. Hongtao Yu | Chair & Associate Professor of Chemistry | E-mail |  601-979-2171







Dr. Loretta A. Moore | VP for Research and Federal Relations | (601)979-5840