Previous Cohorts

Cohort I (2012-2013)


From Cohort I, sixteen participants have submitted grant proposal and three have earned awards.

Image of Hyunju KimDr. Hyunju Kim

The National Science Foundation funded a $299,797 grant proposal by Dr. Kim to develop a student-centered Open Source Software community.  The three-year grant will provide real-world software development experience to Jackson State computer science majors.  Dr. Kim is an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science.  Read here for more information.


Image of Olga OsbyDr. Olga Osby

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., awarded Dr. Osby the 2013 Distinguished Professor Endowed Chair Award with a $220,000 grant for her research proposal examining the roles that African-American grandfathers play in family stabilization, child rearing and community-building. Dr. Osby is an associate professor in the School of Social Work.  Read here for more information.


Image of Yu-Chun KuoDr. Yu-Chun Kuo

The Association for Continuing Higher Education awarded Dr. Kuo the Alex Charters Research Grant to explore how information and communication technologies impact cognitive and non-cognitive learning outcomes for African-American adult learners.  Dr. Kuo is an assistant professor of instructional design and development in the School of Lifelong Learning.  Read here for more information.