Academy Scholars Presentations and Closing Ceremony

April 1st, 2014 by Kenya Hudson

Fill out my online form.

If you experience difficulty completing or using this form, please contact Kenya A. Hudson at ext. 0691 or by e-mail.

Interim Vice President Loretta Moore Honored by IHL

February 24th, 2014 by Kenya Hudson

The Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning recognized the accomplishments of Dr. Loretta Moore in contributing to the advancement of diversity and making a difference in the lives of Mississippi citizens.  Dr. Moore is the interim Vice President for Research and Federal Relations, Principal Investigator for JSU ADVANCE and Professor of Computer Science at Jackson State University.

NEH Awards for Faculty at Historically Black Colleges and Universities

We invite you to apply for the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) fellowship program specifically for faculty at historically black colleges and universities pursuing scholarly research projects in the humanities with value to scholars, general audiences or students in the humanities. The fellowship supports six to twelve months of full-time research with a stipend of $4,200 per month. Suggested products of the fellowship are articles, monographs, books, digital materials, archaeological site reports, translations, editions or other scholarly tools. Fellows may also re-design existing courses. The deadline for projects beginning in 2015 is April 15, 2014.

The Center for University Scholars congratulates all of the recipients of the 2014 Presidential Creative Awards for Faculty and Staff!  In particular, it acknowledges three former Academy Scholars who received awards: Dr. Evornia Kincaid, Dr. Yu-Chun Kuo and Dr. Duanjun Lu.  Contact us to learn how we can help support your research productivity!


What’s Your Wow Factor? Research Proposal Abstracts

January 21st, 2014 by Kenya Hudson

During the Fifth Academy Workshop, Mr. David Hoard, JSU Vice President of Institutional Advancement, discussed the importance of a succinct and compelling "elevator pitch" for faculty seeking external funding for their research.  Please write and upload a 200-word or less abstract that introduces your idea and its "wow factor," demonstrates how this idea can change the world and explains in layman's terms what you plan to do.


Fill out my online form.

Academy Application Deadline Extended to Sep. 27

September 20th, 2013 by Kenya Hudson

Due to overwhelming demand, the deadline for application to the Research and Scholarly Engagement Academy has been extended to Friday, September 27, 2013. The Academy invites applications from all faculty for this intensive year-long series of activities including workshops, mentoring, coaching and engagement with foundations and federal agencies. For more information, please contact the Center for University Scholars by e-mail at or by phone at (601) 979-6949 or (601) 979-0691.

>> Apply Now!

We will host a working session on Friday, September 20, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. in the Fourth Floor Atrium of the H.T. Sampson Library for faculty interested in participating in the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement.  The Academy broadens the community of faculty submitting well-drafted and thoughtful grant proposals.  It does so through an intensive year-long series of activities including workshops, mentoring and engagement with foundations and federal agencies.  During the working session, staff from the JSU Division of Research and Federal Relations will assist participants in submitting applications for the Academy.



Scholars Inducted

November 14th, 2012 by admin

The first meeting of the Academy for Research and Scholarly Engagement was held Friday October 26, 2012. The meeting was attended by the associate provost, vice-presidents, deans and chairs from all the disciplines represented by the scholars.

The meeting began with an induction ceremony for 40 scholars who were accepted by the Academy. They pledged to adhere to the Academy’s requirements including responding to a Request for Proposals by a state, federal or private agency.

Following the ceremony, Dr. Lesia Crumpton-Young, CEO of Powerful Education Technologies and director of the Center for Advancing Faculty Excellence, made a presentation Establishing a Research and Scholarly Agenda.

She told the participants that a good research and scholarly agenda includes doing the following every year: having two to three journal publications, presenting papers at two to three professional conferences and publishing the work, mentoring two to three graduate students and collaborating two to three times with someone in another university. In addition she mentioned that a scholar needs to have two grants funded at all times.

She also said, “A good proposal is a good idea, well expressed, with a clear indication of methods for pursuing the idea, evaluating the findings, making them known to all who need to know, and indicating the broader impacts of the activity.”

During her presentation the participants began working on interactive exercises to develop the blueprint and roadmap for their research and scholarly agenda. Their homework for the week included completing the blueprint and the roadmap, and revising the initial narrative and concept paper.

Participants left the meeting with the clear understanding that for them to be successful in achieving their goals, a significant weekly time commitment is required.

Academy Working Session

September 7th, 2012 by admin