JSU Faculty Experts

Faculty Experts

Jackson State University offers hundreds of faculty experts in a wide range of fields who are available for print and broadcast interviews, guest commentary and expert analysis. Call the University Communications at 601-979-2272.


 

Adult Professional Development and Distance Learning:
Gwen Dooley
601-432-6649
gdooley@jsums.edu


African American History, civil rights movement history

Dr. Robert Luckett
601-979-2055

robert.luckett@jsums.edu

 


 

African-American Music
Dr. Russell Thomas
601-979-2141

russell.thomas@jsums.edu

 


 

Accounting
Dr. Quinton Booker
601-979-2414
qbooker@ccaix.jsums.edu


Athletics/NCAA rules

 

Dr. Vivian Fuller
601-979-2291
vivian.l.fuller@jsums.edu


 

Biology

Dr. Paul Tchounwou
601-979-3321

paul.b.tchounwou@jsums.edu

 


Dr. Huey-Min Hwang
Enhanced bioremediation, renewable energy, green biotechnology, environmental and nanomaterials toxicology
601-979-2595
huey-min.hwang@jsums.edu

Dr. Hyun Jung ("J.") Cho
Coastal restoration, aquatic plants and remote sensing of aquatic environment
601-979-3912

hyun_jung.cho@jsums.edu

 


Bio-Medical, Cardiovascular Study, JacksonHeart Study

Dr. Herman Taylor
601-982-1133

herman.a.taylor@jsums.edu

 


Business Education

 

Dr. Cynthina Blackwell
601-979-26678
cblackwe@ccaix.jsums.edu 

Dr. Mary M. White
Professional development & communications, business plan development, customer service training, supervisory training, curriculum development, proposal writing
601-979-2541

mary.m.white@jsums.edu 


Cancer, Drug Discovery

Dr. Ernest B. Izevbigie
601-979-3464

ernest.b.izevbigie@jsums.edu

Dr. Paresh Ray
601-
979-3486
paresh.c.ray@jsums.edu

 


Computing

Dr. Shuangzhang (Shane) TuHigh
Performance computing, computational fluid dynamics, numerical methods, aerodynamics, hydrodynamics
601-979-1275
shuangzhang.tu@jsums.edu  

 

Economics, Finance and General Business

Cyberlearning

Dr. Robert Blaine
601-979-2141

robert.blaine@jsums.edu 


Economics, Finance and General Business

 

Dr. Jean-Claude Asaad
601-979-4326

jassad@ccaix.jsums.edu


Education

 

Dr. Daniel Watkins
601-979-3415

Daniel.watkins@jsums.edu

Dr. Rodney Washington
Elementary & Early Childhood Education
601.979.2341

rodney.washington@jsums.edu 

Dr. Shakira Cain
Education, early childhood education, infant and toddler development, special education/public policy & administration, human resources, and
training
shakira.l.cain@jsums.edu
601-432-6151 


Entrepreneurship

Dr. Mary White
Chair601-979-2675
mwhite@ccaix.jsums.edu


Environmental science, hazardous materials management, computer science

Dr. Doris T. McPherson
601-594-2690 – cell
601-979-2474 – office


International Customs, Cultures

Dr. Lokesh Shivakumaraiah
601-979-3791
 


Language development and disorders in children and adolescents

 

Dr. Nola T. Radford, CCC-SLP
601-432-6717

nola.t.radford@jsums.edu


Literary criticism, American literature, classical and world literature, and postcolonial literature

 

Dr. Patsy J. Daniels
601-979-1480

editor.researcher@jsums.edu


Management and Marketing

Dr. J.R. Smith
601-979-2534
jrsmith@ccaix.jsums.edu

 


Mass Communications

Dr. Sunny Fridge
Broadcast journalism, convergence, internship, journalism, multimedia, minorities and women in media, new media.

601-979-3601
sunny.s.fridge@jsums.edu


Music, Orchestral Studies, Symphony
 
Dr. Robert Blaine
601-979-2141

robert.blaine@jsums.edu  

 


Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Dr. Paresh Ray
601-979-3486
paresh.c.ray@jsums.edu

 


 

Politics, Racial Attitudes and Legislative behavior
 
Dr. D'Andre Orey
601-979-2737
byron.d.orey@jsums.edu

 

 


 

Political Science: Voting behavior, public opinion and Asian politics in general

Dr. HyungLae Park
601-979-0486
hyung.l.park@jsums.edu



Psychology, Anxiety Disorders, Violence Prevention and Anger Management, Stigma Reduction and mental illness

Dr. Pamela G. Banks
601-979-2371

Pamela.g.banks@jsums.edu



Public Health, Rural Health

Dr. Emeka O.C. Nwagwu
601-979-8806

emeka.nwagwu@jsums.edu
 

Dr. Mohammad Shahbazi
601-979-1143
mohammad.shahbazi@jsums.edu


 

Public Policy

Dr. Otha Burton, Jr.
601-432-6865
otha.burton@jsums.edu
 


 

Social Services

 


Dr. Mario Azvedo
601-432-6828
mario.j.azevedo@jsums.edu



Social Work

 

Dr. Leon W. Chestang
Child welfare, race & culture, marriage & family, and social work education
601-432-6828

leon.w.chestang@jsums.edu


 

Sociology

Dr. Thomas Kersen
Population, sociology of religion, communal living, community, the South and military and war
662-979-3040

thomas.m.kersen@jsums.edu

 


Student Life and Services

Dr. Marcus Chaney
601-979-2329
marcus.a.chanay@jsums.edu

 


 

Veterans Affairs

Timothy Abram
601-979-6938
timothy.l.abram@jsums.edu


Speech, American Drama, Public Speaking
 
Dr. Mark Henderson
601-979-8612

mark.g.henderson@jsums.edu

 


 

Technology

Dr. Francis Tuluri
Electronics and microcontrollers technology; environmental modeling simulations; materials science; NMR imaging; science, engineering and technology education

601-955-1961 (mobile); 601-979-8262 (office)
francis.tuluri@jsums.edu


Urban Planning/Economic Development

Dr. Kimberly Hilliard
Urban planning, community development, economic development, U.S. housing policy, and historic preservation
601-979-1058

kimberly.d.hilliard@jsums.edu