Faculty & Staff


Public Health Staff

Regina Gilbert
Administrative Assistant
Public Health Departments
601-979-8789
regina.gilbert@jsums.edu

Ernessa D. Miller
Administrative Assistant
Department of Communicative Disorders
601-979-1143
ernessa.d.miller@jsums.edu

Cecilia Tate
Clinical Secretary
Department of Communicative Disorders
601-979-8001
cecilia.t.tate@jsums.edu

Public Health Faculty

Department of Behavioral and Environmental Health

Dr. Mary Shaw
Department Chair and Professor of Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-3103
mary.shaw@jsums.edu

Dr. Luma Akil
Assistant Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health
(601) 979-3105
luma.akil@jsums.edu

Dr. Nelson Atehortua
Assistant Professor of Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-8852
nelson.atehortua@jsums.edu

Dr. Sophia Leggett
Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health & MPH Program Coordinator
(601) 979-8846
sophia.s.leggett@jsums.edu

Dr. Sheila McKinney
Assistant Professor of Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-3104
sheila.y.mckinney@jsums.edu

Dr. Jennifer Sims
Assistant Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health
(601) 979-4037
jennifer.n.sims@jsums.edu

Dr. Mohammad Shahbazi
Professor of Behavioral Health Promotion and Education
(601) 979-8845
mohammad.shahbazi@jsums.edu

Department of Communicative Disorders

Dr. Brandi Newkirk-Turner
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Communicative Disorders
(601) 979-8832
brandi.l.newkirk@jsums.edu

Dr. Whitney Perkins
Clinical Coordinator/Instructor
Interim Undergraduate Program Coordinator
(601) 979-1433
whitney.d.perkins@jsums.edu

Dr. Betty Sutton
Clinical Assistant Professor
(601) 979-8878
betty.d.sutton@jsums.edu

Dr. Laura Vaughan-Robinson
Associate Professor
(601) 979-1143
laura.v.robinson@jsums.edu

Ms. Kristy Taylor
Clinical Assistant Professor
(601) 979-1143
kristy.l.taylor@jsums.edu

Dr. Jennifer Wiles
Audiologist/Clinical Assistant Professor
(601) 979-8879
jennifer.e.wiles@jsums.edu

Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Dr. Marinelle Payton
Chair and Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-8817
marinelle.payton@jsums.edu

Dr. Clifton Addison
Associate Professor of Biostatistics
(601) 979-8765
clifton.addison@jsums.edu

Dr. Azad Bhuiyan
Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-8794
azad.r.bhuiyan@jsums.edu

Dr. Ricardo Brown
Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-8804
ricardo.a.brown@jsums.edu

Dr. Jung Hye S. Lee
Professor of Biostatistics
(601) 979-8792
jung.h.lee@jsums.edu

Dr. Anthony Mawson
Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-8797
anthony.r.mawson@jsums.edu

Dr. Vincent L. Mendy
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-3106
vincent.l.mendy@jsums.edu

Dr. Amal Mitra
Professor of Epidemiology
(601) 979-8788
amal.k.mitra@jsums.edu

Department of Health Policy and Management/ Healthcare Administration Program

Dr. Joyce Buckner-Brown
Department Chair and Professor of Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-4017
joyce.buckner-brown@jsums.edu

Dr. Russell L. Bennett
Associate Professor & DrPH Program Coordinator
Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8822
russell.l.bennett@jsums.edu

Dr. Javis Knott
Assistant Professor of Healthcare Administration
(601) 979-8791
javis.m.knott@jsums.edu

Dr. Emeka Nwagwu
Professor of Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8828
emeka.nwagwu@jsums.edu

Dr. Mustafa Younis
Professor of Health Policy and Management
(601) 979-8823
mustafa.younis@jsums.edu

 

Click Here for School of Social Work Faculty