Faculty/Staff

Welcome to the JSU Department of Music Faculty and Staff. In this section, you will find a list of faculty sorted by various categories. The list below also includes links to faculty profiles. To locate a member select from the items below.

 

Chair

JSU_Lisa Beckley-Roberts_Chair picDr. Lisa Beckley-Roberts
Associate Professor of Music
Chair, Musicology 
Email: lisa.m.beckley-roberts@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2142
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Main Office

 

 

 

 

Faculty

JSU_david-akombo_108x145Dr. David Akombo
Faculty Fellow College of Liberal Arts
Associate Professor of Music
Music Education
Email: david.o.akombo@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2584
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 19

 

JSU_Alfred Duckett2_100x135Dr. Alfred Duckett
Associate Professor of Music
Conducting
Email: alfred.c.duckett@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.4018
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 10

 

 

JSU_Ivan Elezovic_108x145 smallDr. Ivan Elezovic
Associate Professor of Music
Coordinator of Music Theory and Composition
Email: ivan.elezovic@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.0834
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 5

 

JSU_Loretta Galbreath_108x145 smallDr. Loretta Galbreath
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Assistant Director of Choral Activities
Email: loretta.j.galbreath@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2887
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 4

 

Dr. Darryl Harris
Instructor of Music
Interim Director of Orchestral Studies
Email: darryl.e.harris@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2882
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 15

 

Mr. Lowell Hollinger
Assistant Professor of Music – Woodwinds
Associate Director of Symphonic and Concert Bands
Email: lowell.a.hollinger@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.7065
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 8

 

Mr. Kevan Johnson
Instructor of Music – Director of Music Technology
Associate Director of Bands/Chief Arranger
Email: kevan.l.johnson@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.7039
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 16

 

JSU_Shawn Leopard_108x145Ms. Shawn Leopard
Instructor of Music – Pianist/ Harpsichordist
Music Librarian 
Email: shawn.l.leopard@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2142
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 6

 

Dr. Phyllis Lewis–Hale
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Opera Workshop
Email: phyllis.a.lewis_hale@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2984
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 2

 

 

 

 

JSU_Roderick Little_108x145 smallDr. Roderick Little
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Bands, Percussion
Email: roderick.d.little@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.7063
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 9

 

JSU_David Mahloch_108x145 smallDr. David Mahloch
Instructor of Music
Music Theory
Email: david.j.mahloch@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 14

 

JSU_Patrick Rettger_108x145 smallDr. Patrick Rettger
Instructor of Music
Tuba and Euphonium
Email: patrick.c.rettger@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.1057
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 13


JSU_David Ware_108x145 smallDr. David N. Ware
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
Trumpet
Email: david.n.ware@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2886
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 18

 

 

 

Staff

Mr. Ramon Jackson
Music Director of Musical Activities/ Administrative Assistant

Email: ramon.l.jackson@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F. D. Hall Music Center
Main Office

 

 

JSU_Courtney Lett_108x145 smallMs. Courtney Lett
Administrative Assistant/Band
Advisor of Tau Beta Sigma
Email: courtney.l.lett@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Band Hall

 

 

JSU_Jerry C Smith_108x145 smallMr. Jerry C. Smith
Staff Accompanist
Email: jerry.c.smith@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2141
Location: F.D. Hall Music Center
Studio 1

 

 

Adjuncts

Dr. Robert Detjen, Horn

Mr. Johnny Hubbard, Jazz

Ms. Julie Hudik, Oboe

Mrs. Lorraine Jackson, Music Education

Mr. Ramon Jackson, Music Education

Mr. Quinous Johnson, Music Technology

Ms. Amulet Strange, Flute

Dr. Carla Stovall, Trombone

Ms. Milenia Rusanova, Violin/Viola

Mr. Jon Wenberg, Bassoon