Margaret Walker Center

Margaret Walker Center
Jackson State University
Ayer Hall
1400 J.R. Lynch Street
P.O. Box 17008
Jackson, MS 39217

Phone: 601-979-3935
Fax: 601-979-5929

Keep up to date
with all MWC events
by signing up for the
MWC Listserv!

Margaret Walker
Centennial Sponsors!

JSU Library
Richard Wright Center
2 Mississippi Museums
Directions to Ayer Hall

Margaret Walker Center
Feasibility Study


Press Release

Margaret Walker
Centennial Events
Jackson Hinds Library System


Margaret Walker Alexander
Black Studies Fund

Membership & Boards

Margaret Walker Center Membership

Consider a gift to the Margaret Walker Alexander Black Studies Fund and support all of the work of the Margaret Walker Center, from our archival collections and exhibits to our public programming. Membership in the Margaret Walker Center is open to all persons who are interested in the purpose of the Center and in African-American history and culture.


Student ($5) or Regular ($25)

Contributing Member ($50)

Associate Member ($100) 

Institutional Member ($150)

Friends of the Center ($200)

Sustaining Member ($500)

Honorary Fellow ($1000)

Corporate Sponsor ($2000)


National Council

The National Council of the Margaret Walker Center for the Study of the African-American Experience is constituted for the substantial development and promotion of the Margaret Walker Center.  This Council shall be comprised of persons with influence on the national and international levels, who were impacted personally, artistically, and/or professionally by Margaret Walker and her works.  Members shall commit themselves to heighten the prominence of Margaret Walker, promote the mission of the Walker Center, and develop the Center’s permanent endowment.

Mr. Chaucer Barnes (New York, New York)
Dr. William Ferris (Chapel Hill, North Carolina)
Dr. Maryemma Graham (Lawrence, Kansas)
Dr. Alferdteen Harrison (Jackson, Mississippi)
Mr. Jon Peede (Charlottesville, Virginia)
Mr. Randall Pinkson (New York, New York)
Dr. Walter Reed (Jackson, Mississippi)
The Honorable Leah Ward Sears (Atlanta, Georgia)
Dr. Tonea Stewart (Montgomery, Alabama)
The Honorable William Winter (Jackson, Mississippi)

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board for the Margaret Walker Center is a voluntary, 31-member group that provides guidance for the development of the Center and advice to the Center Director and the University administration on ways to enhance the Center.

Dr. Robert Smith, Chair                            Dr. Clarence Hunter
Mrs. Marcia Weaver, Vice-Chair               Mrs. Willie Jones
Dr. Jennifer Young-Wallace, Secretary      Mrs. Mildred Kelley
Mr. Milton Chambliss, Treasurer               Mrs. Alice Lewis
Sen. Hillman Frazier, Parliamentarian      Mr. Gustavus McCoy
Rev. Barron Banks                                    Mr. Claude L. McInnis
Dr. Rico Chapman                                     Dr. Richard Middleton
Dr. Daphne Chamberlain                            Dr. Patricia Murrain
Dr. Phillip Cockrell                                     Dr. Theresia Ratliff
Ms. Natalie Collier                                    Rev. C.J. Rhodes
Dr. Ella Jean Davis                                    Mrs. Dorothy Stewart
Mrs. Helen Govan                                     Ms. Nettie Stowers
Rev. D.L. Govan                                        Mr. Eric Stringfellow
Dr. Maryemma Graham                             Mr. Reginald Thompson
Dr. Lucille Green                                       Dr. Glenda Windfield 
The Honorable Malcolm Harrison              

Emeriti Advisory Board Members
Mr. Paul Campbell
Senator Alice Harden
Dr. Lelia Rhodes
Mrs. Rosia Wade Crisler