Mission & Staff

Mission

The Margaret Walker Center is an archive, museum, and Black Studies institute, dedicated to the preservation, interpretation, and dissemination of African American history and culture for a local and global community of students, scholars, and the supporting public.

 

Vision and Goals

Founded by Margaret Walker in 1968, the Center seeks to honor her academic, artistic, and activist legacy by expanding and promoting its manuscript holdings and oral history collections, interpreting African American history and culture through its museum and exhibits, coordinating public programs on campus and throughout the community, preserving historic structures central to the African American experience, and advocating for a degree-granting Black Studies program at Jackson State University.

 

Staff

bio 2015 web

Robert Luckett, PhD
Director
Email: robert.luckett@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.3935
Location: Ayer Hall

 

 

JSU_Angela Stewart_small

 

Ms. Angela D. Stewart, MA
Archivist
Email: angela.d.stewart@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2460
Location: Ayer Hall

 

 

 

Ms. Alissa Rae Funderburk, MA
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Oral Historian
Email: alissa.funderburk@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.3144
Location: Ayer Hall

 

 

Ms. Lauren Shelby
Education and PR Manager
Email: lauren.e.shelby@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.1349
Location: Ayer Hall

 

 

 

Ms. Patrice Jones
Administrative Assistant/Building Administrator
Email: patrice.l.jones@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.2735
Location: Ayer Hall, Rm 203

 

 

 

 

Dr. Tiffany Caesar
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Visiting Scholar
Email: tiffany.d.caesar@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.3143
Location: Ayer Hall

 

 

Mrs. Linda Brady
Receptionist
Email: linda.brady@jsums.edu
Phone: 601.979.3935
Location: Ayer Hall

Follow the MWC!

Margaret Walker Center
College of Liberal Arts
Jackson State University
Ayer Hall
1400 J.R. Lynch Street
P.O. Box 17008
Jackson, MS 39217
USA

Phone: 601-979-3935
mwa@jsums.edu

Keep up to date
with all MWC events
by signing up for the
MWC Listserv!

Resources
Researcher Application

JSU Library

Association of
African American Museums

NMAAHC

COFO Center

Richard Wright Center

2 Mississippi Museums

Directions to Ayer Hall

Margaret Walker Center
Feasibility Study

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------

------------------------


COVID-Safe Reopening Plan

------------------------