1.2.1 Board of Trustees

The Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL System), under the governance of its Board of Trustees, will operate as a strong public university system with eight distinct, mission-driven universities, and will enhance the quality of life of Mississippians by effectively meeting their diverse educational needs.

The purpose of the Board of Trustees is to control Mississippi’s eight institutions of higher learning in accordance with the State Constitution and to see that the IHL system’s mission is accomplished.  To do so, the Board will operate a coordinated system of higher education, establish prudent governance policies, employ capable chief executives, and require legal, fiscal, and programmatic accountability.  The Board will report to the Legislature and the citizenry on the needs and accomplishments of the IHL System.  The members of the Board of Trustees of the IHL System are appointed by the Governor of the state with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Jackson State University is one of the eight state institutions of higher learning operating under the management and control of the Board of Trustees of the IHL System.