Calendar of Events

  1. Percussion Ensemble Concert
    November 11 @ 6:30 pm - 7:40 pm
  2. Woodwind Ensemble Concert
    November 11 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  3. Jazz Ensemble Concert
    November 12 @ 7:00 pm
  4. JSU Brass Quinet Concert
    November 17 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  5. JSU Brass Ensemble Concert
    November 17 @ 7:00 pm

Prospective Students

 

Undergraduate Students seeking a Music Degree

Thank you for your interest in our undergraduate music programs at Jackson State University!  We appreciate the time, talent, and energy you and your support team have devoted to making the important decision of pursuing a music degree.   For answers as you continue the admission process, please contact our undergraduate advising coordinator, Mr. Lowell Hollinger, at 601-979-7065, or  lowell.a.hollinger@jsums.edu  or Dr. David Akombo, at 601-979-2142 or david.o.akombo@jsums.edu.

Please note that all students wishing to enroll as music majors must complete two applications, a Jackson State University application and a Department of Music application. 

 

Step 1: Apply to the University

All first year students, transfer students, and international students must be admitted to both Jackson State University and to the Music Department. Complete the appropriate Jackson State University application found on the Office of Admissions web page.

 

Step 2: Apply to the Music Department

Complete the Department of Music, Music Major Application.

Students may start their application for admission to the Music Department prior to being admitted to Jackson State University.  However, acceptance as a degree seeking music major is contingent upon admission to Jackson State University.

 

Step 3: Audition

To complete the application process you must schedule an on-campus audition with the appropriate music faculty.

Audition Requirements and Scheduling Auditions:

Winds:

·       Mr. Lowell Hollinger, lowell.a.hollinger@jsums.edu, 601-979-7065

Brass:

·       Dr. Patrick Rettger, patrick.c.rettger@jsums.edu, 601-979-1057

Voice:

•    Dr. Loretta Galbreath, loretta.j.galbreath@jsums.edu, 601-979-2887

•    Mrs. Phyllis Lewis – Hale, phyllis.a.lewis_hale@jsums.edu, 601-979- 2984

Strings:

•    Ms. Rachel Jordan, rachel.w.jordan@jsums.edu, 601-979-2886

Piano:

·       Mr. Harlan Zackery, harlan.zackery@jsums.edu, 601-979-2882

To schedule an audition and for additional information for Winds, Percussion and to be a participant in the Sonic Boom of the South’s Marching Band, University Choir, Orchestra, Jazz Band and Choir, contact the JSU Music Department’s Principal Recruiter, O’Neill Sanford via email (oneill.sanford@jsums.edu) or call him at (601-979-2578).

 

Exceptions to On-Campus Auditions


Candidates who live a great distance from campus may submit a recording of the audition repertoire. Please contact the appropriate areas for more information.

 

Visiting the Music Department 
Contact the Administrative Assistant, Mr. Ramon L. Jackson, Front Music Office, 601-979- 2141or email ramon.l.jackson@jsums.edu.