Skip to main content

Department of History and Philosophy
College of Liberal Arts


The Department of History and Philosophy welcomes you to its home page. Here we introduce our talented and student-friendly faculty, our undergraduate and graduate degree programs, and our organizations, clubs, events, activities, and projects.

Dr. Cassie S. Turnipseed

Turnipseed Photo

Assistant Professor

COLA 338










2010-16 Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, TN PhD, Public History–Huh-ta Fellow (2014-15)

1999 George Washington University, Washington, DC • Certificate of Completion, Distance Education & Web-based Instructional Designs

1995-97 Golden Gate University, San Francisco, CA • MBA, Marketing/International Management • MS, Telecommunications Management

1992-93 University Berkeley, Extension, Berkeley, CA • Advertising

1989-91 San Francisco State University, San Francisco, CA • BS, Media (radio & television) Communications AWARDS /


  • The Mississippi Trailblazers Award, BancorpSouth Conference Center, Tupelo, 4/27/19.
  • 2018 Summer Research Grant—The Lessons of the Gullah Geechee: Making a Way Out of No Way, Mississippi Valley State University, 6/18-7/18.
  • Diversity Educator of the Year, Institute of Higher Learning, State of Mississippi, 2017
  • NAACP, Certificate of Accomplishment, Moorhead, MS, 11/16
  • BOSS Lady: Breaking the Glass Ceiling Award, Grammy Museum, Cleveland, MS, 10/16
  • Historic Preservation Award, AKA Sorority, Mound Bayou, MS, 2/22/15
  • Middle Tennessee State University — Huhta Fellow, 2014
  • Community Service Tribute: Black History Month Spotlight, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church, Indianola, MS, 2/9/14
  • Studio 53, Community Award, St Louis, MO, 2013
  • Youth Outreach and Cultural Learning Award, NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet, 4/12
  • U.S. Congressional Honor for commitment to preserving the rich history and heritage of the Mississippi Delta, by Congressman Bennie G Thompson, October 23,2012
  • Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour selected Fellow, Delta Regional Authority, Delta Leadership Institute, 2008
  • Delta Blues Most Dedicated Award, MS Blues Reunion Festival, Belzoni, MS, 11/11
  • Participant, George Melendez Wright, New Orleans Conference, 2011
  • Host, Delta Renaissance, Cultural Arts Talk Show, WABG-TV, 2009-current
  • Host, Delta Scene, Public Affairs Talk Show, WXVT-TV, Greenville, MS, 2007-09
  • Delta Regional Authority: Delta Leadership Institute, Fellow, ’08-09
  • MC/Announcer, Indianola Christmas Parade, Indianola, MS
  • First African American Woman to sit on the Economic Development Foundation, Board of Directors, in Choctaw County Mississippi, USA, 2004-2007
  • Diaspora (USA/Canada/South America/Caribbean/West Indies) Rep., Pan African Film & Video Festival, Ouagadougou, (FESPAC0)-Paul Robeson Award, 2003-09
  • Entrepreneur of the Year: African Bridge, Inc, 2004
  • Black Filmmaker’s Hall of Fame—Best Producer Award, 1993
  • Telecommunications Education Trust–Jack P. Eckley, Graduate Scholarship, 1995
  • TeleCommunications Association (TCA) Fellowship, 1994
  • Republique de Cote d’Ivoirc, Ville dAbidjan—Les Palmes dtIonneur de la City, issued by Mel Theodore EG, Maire de Cocody, 1993
  • Independent Producer of the Year, Black Filmmakers Hall of Fame, 1993
  • American Women Radio &TV (AWRT), Outstanding Media Student Award, 1987





Useful links



For more information, please contact us at (601) 979-2191.  We look forward to meeting with you and seeing how our program can help you achieve your goals.



3rd floor suite, Dollye M. E. Robinson Building
P.O. Box 17700
Jackson MS 39217


(601) 979-2191