Graduate Council Members

The Graduate Council


The Graduate Council is responsible for the development and coordination of general policies and procedures for graduate programs and the maintenance of uniform standards for the admission of students and for the awarding of graduate degrees. It is, therefore, the responsible body to recommend, initiate, develop, and approve graduate programs. Acting with the Graduate Dean, it may initiate plans for improvement of graduate instruction, set standards for the Graduate Faculty, and, in general, oversee the proper functioning of the Division of Graduate Studies. The Graduate Council consists of a representative, usually the Department Chair, from each department and program offering graduate degrees. At the Annual University Fall Faculty Seminar, an additional representative from each School is elected for one year by the assembled graduate faculty. The Graduate Dean also appoints for one or two year terms additional members from the faculty at large in order to ensure balanced representation. Two graduate students are appointed by the Dean for one year. These representatives act in an advisory capacity and are charged with the transmittance to their departments of the deliberations of the Graduate Council and are also charged to bring recommendations to the Council. During the academic year, the Graduate Council meets during the following months: August, October, November, February, March and April. Special meetings of the Council may be called by the Dean or by a majority of the Council members.


Graduate Council Members



College of Business

TBD, Business Graduate Programs

Dr. Nicholas Hill, Business Graduate Programs


College of Education and Human Development

Dr. Walter Brown, Urban Higher Education

Dr. Ingrad Smith, Educational Leadership

Dr. Dion Porter, Counseling, Rehabilitation and Psychometric Services

Dr. Tracy Harris, Elementary and Early Childhood


College of Liberal Arts

Dr. David Akombo, Music

Dr. Bryman Williams, Clinical Psychology


College of Public Service

Dr. Johnny Gilleylen, Public Policy and Administration

Dr. Joan Wesley, Urban & Regional Planning

Dr. Isiah Marshall, Social Work


College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Dr. Daning Chen, Mathematical and Statistical Science

Dr. Paul Tchounwou, Graduate and International Studies

Dr. P.C. Yuan, Department of Industrial Systems and Technology


School of Public Health (Initiative)

Dr. Russell Bennett

Dr. Mary Shaw



Dr. Jean-Claude  Assad

Dr. Juette Millard Bingham

Dr. Jeton McClinton


Ex-Officio Members

Dr. William B. Bynum, President

Dr. Lynda Brown-Wright, Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Sheila Porterfield, College of Business

Dr. Daniel Watkins, College of Education and Human Development

Dr. Mario Azevedo, College of Liberal Arts

Dr. Johnny Gilleylen, College of Public Service

Dr. Wilbur Walters, College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Dr. Mohammad Shahbazi, School of Public Health Initiative

Dr. Loria Brown Gordon, Undergraduate Studies

Dr. Melissa Druckrey, Library and Information Resources