Staff

 

GTEC Principal Investigator


Marinelle Payton, MD, PhD, MS, MPH
Assistant Dean for Research and Program Development
Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Director and Principal Investigator, Institute of Epidemiology and
Health Services Research and Center of Excellence in Minority Health
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall – Thad Cochran Center 
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2280 
Jackson, MS 39213 
Telephone: (601) 979-8817;  Fax: 601-979-8817 
marinelle.payton@jsums.edu 
 

Program Director


Brenda W. Campbell Jenkins, MPH, PhD
Program Director
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochram Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8731,  Fax: (601) 979-8701
brenda.w.campbell@jsums.edu 

 

Senior Research Scientist


Clifton Addison, PhD 
Senior Research Scientist 
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center

Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2200-B  
Jackson, MS  39213 
Telephone:  (601) 979-8765;  Fax: (601) 979-8701 
clifton.addison@jsums.edu

 

Applications Programmer


Gregory Wilson, Sr.
Senior SAS Programmer Analyst
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900-B
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8757;   Fax: (601) 979-8701
gregory.wilson@jsums.edu 

 

Information Technology


Lavon Young, MPH
Information Technology Specialist
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8734;  Fax: (601) 979-1537
Lavon.Young@jsums.edu 

 

Business Operations Manager


Katherine Herron, MPA
Business Operations Manager
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8733;  Fax: (601) 979-1537
katherine.herron@jsums.edu  

 

Administrative Assistant


Clevette Woodberry, BA
Administrative Assistant 
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health 
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2260
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8705  Fax: (601) 979-8701
clevette.l.woodberry@jsums.edu

 

Learning Community Advisors


Adolfo Correa, MD, PhD
Chief Science Officer, Jackson Heart Study
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, University of Mississippi Medical Center
350 W. Woodrow Wilson Blvd, Suite 701
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 815-9319 
acorrea@umc.edu 

 

Johnny B. Gilleylen Sr., PhD
Chair, Department of Public Policy and Administration
College of Public Service
Jackson State University
Jackson, MS 39217 
Telephone: (601) 979-8786
​johnny.b.gilleylen@jsums.edu

 

Mario Sims, PhD
Special Assistant to the Director
Science Officer, Jackson Heart Study
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Phone:  (601) 815-5784;  Fax: (601) 979-8701
msims2@umc.edu 
 

 

Instructors


Azad R Bhuiyan, MD, MPH, PhD 
Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
350 W. Woodrow Wilson Dr. Ste. 233, Jackson Medical Mall
Jackson State University
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8794;  Fax: (601) 979-8848
azad.r.bhuiyan@jsums.edu
 

Ricardo A. Brown, Ph.D 
Dean, College of Public Service
Jackson Medical Mall, Suite 301
350 West Woodrow Wilson Drive
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8836;  Fax:(601) 979-8837 
ricardo.a.brown@jsums.edu  

 

Jacqueline Reese-Smith, PhD
Assistant professor
Jackson State University
JSU Box 18750
Jackson, MS 39217
Telephone:  (601) 979-1055  Fax: (601) 979-0570 
jacqueline.y.reese-smith@jsums.edu 

 

Daniel F. Sarpong, PhD
Director , Center for Minority Health Disparities Research and Education (CMHDRE)
Endowed Chair of Health Disparities
Associate Professor
College of Pharamacy
Xavier University of Louisiana 
1 Drexel Drive
New Orleans, LA 70125
Phone:  (504) 520-5345  Fax: (501) 520-7930

dsarpong@xula.edu

 

Jung Hye Sung Lee, Dr.Sc., MPH 
Assistant Professor
School of Health Sciences
School of Public Health 
Jackson State University
Telephone:  (601) 979-8792 
jung.h.lee@jsums.edu