Staff

 

GTEC Principal Investigator


Marinelle Payton, MD, PhD, MS, MPH
Assistant Dean for Research and Program Development
Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Director and Principal Investigator, Institute of Epidemiology and
Health Services Research and Center of Excellence in Minority Health
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall – Thad Cochran Center 
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2280 
Jackson, MS 39213 
Telephone: (601) 979-8817;  Fax: 601-979-8817 
marinelle.payton@jsums.edu 
 

Director of Training and Education


Brenda W. Campbell Jenkins, MPH, PhD
Director of Training and Education
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900-B
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8731,  Fax: (601) 979-1412
brenda.w.campbell@jsums.edu 

 

Senior Research Scientist


Clifton Addison, PhD 
Associate Professor/Senior Research Scientist 
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center

Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900-B  
Jackson, MS  39213 
Telephone:  (601) 979-8765;  Fax: (601) 979-1412 
clifton.addison@jsums.edu

 

Senior Programmer Analyst/Director of Data Management


Gregory Wilson, Sr., MA, PhD
Senior Programmer Analyst/Director of Data Management
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900-B
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8757;   Fax: (601) 979-1412
gregory.wilson@jsums.edu 

 

Research Associate


Monique White, MPH, PhD
Research Associate
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8734;  Fax: (601) 979-1412
monique.s.white@jsums.edu 

 

Business Operations Manager


Katherine Herron, MPA
Business Operations Manager
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8733;  Fax: (601) 979-1412
katherine.herron@jsums.edu  

 

Administrative Assistant


Clevette Woodberry, BA
Administrative Assistant 
Jackson Heart Study Graduate Training and Education Center
Jackson State University School of Public Health 
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 2900-B
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8705  Fax: (601) 979-1412
clevette.l.woodberry@jsums.edu

 

Learning Community Advisors


Adolfo Correa, MD, PhD
Chief Science Officer, Jackson Heart Study
Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, University of Mississippi Medical Center
350 W. Woodrow Wilson Blvd, Suite 701
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 815-9319 
acorrea@umc.edu 

 

Johnny B. Gilleylen Sr., PhD
Chair, Department of Public Policy and Administration
College of Public Service
Jackson State University
Jackson, MS 39217 
Telephone: (601) 979-8786
johnny.b.gilleylen@jsums.edu

 

Mario Sims, PhD
Chief Science Officer
Jackson Heart Study
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Phone:  (601) 815-5784;  Fax: (601) 979-8701
msims2@umc.edu 
 

 

Instructors


Azad R Bhuiyan, MD, MPH, PhD 
Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jackson State University School of Public Health 
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 233
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone: (601) 979-8794;  Fax: (601) 979-8848
azad.r.bhuiyan@jsums.edu

 

Vincent Mendy, DrPh
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jackson State University School of Public Health 
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 221
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone:  (601) 979-3106  Fax: (601) 979-8848 
vincent.mendy@jsums.edu 

 

Daniel F. Sarpong, PhD
Director, Center for Minority Health Disparities Research and Education (CMHDRE)
Endowed Chair of Health Disparities
Associate Professor
College of Pharmacy
Xavier University of Louisiana 
1 Drexel Drive
New Orleans, LA 70125
Phone:  (504) 520-5345  Fax: (501) 520-7930

dsarpong@xula.edu

 

Jung Hye Sung Lee, Dr.Sc., MPH 
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jackson State University School of Public Health 
Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue, Suite 230
Jackson, MS 39213
Telephone:  (601) 979-8792 
jung.h.lee@jsums.edu