Department Chairs

Dr. Mario Azevedo
Professor and Dean of the College of Liberal Arts
Duke University
African, African American, Epidemiology (Infectious Diseases)
Phonel: 601-979-8836
E-mail: mario.j.azevedo@jsums.edu

 

 

Faculty

Kofi BarimaDr. Kofi Barima
Assistant Professor
Oral/Public, Afro-Atlantic History
Howard University
Phone: 601-979-6303
E-mail: kofi.r.barima@jsums.edu

 

Mark BernhardtDr. Mark Bernhardt
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
University of California, Riverside
U.S., Media, Film History, Gender and Sexuality
Phone: 601-979-2495
E-mail: mark.a.bernhardt@jsums.edu

 

Janice BrockleyDr. Janice Brockley 
Associate Professor
Rutgers University
Gender and Family, Disability and Health, U.S. History
EPhone: 601-979-2504
E-mail: janice.a.brockley@jsums.edu

 

Joshua Cotton_112x134

Mr. Joshua Cotton 
Instructor
Jackson State University
Global History
Phone: 601-979-2368
E-mail: joshua.j.cotton@jsums.edu

 

Farah_color adjust_130x140Ms. Farah Christmas 
Instructor
Jackson State University
Global History
Phone: 601-979-2498
E-mail: farah.l.christmas@jsums.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2016-09-232016-09-23dr-davis-2-thumbDr. Dernoral Davis
Associate Professor
State University of New York (SUNY)
American, Afro-American, Southern, American Urban History
Phone: 601-979-2191
E-mail: dernoral.davis@jsums.edu

 

Robert LuckettDr. Robert Luckett
Associate Professor and Director, Margaret Walker Center
University of Georgia
20th Century U.S., Civil Rights,African American, Southern
Phone: 601-979-3935
E-mail: robert.luckett@jsums.edu

 

Susan ManeckDr. Susan Maneck
Associate Professor
University of Arizona
Global History, Oriental, Religious, and Women’s Studies
Phone: 601-979-2491
E-mail: susan.s.maneck@jsums.edu

 

Lomarsh RoopnarineDr. Lomarsh Roopnarine
Professor
University at Albany, State University of New York
Caribbean History, Latin American History
Phone: 601-979-2494
E-mail: lomarsh.roopnarine@jsums.edu

 

2014-11-212014-11-21jsu_thames_shannon-thumbMr. Shannon Thames
Instructor
Jackson State University
20th Century U.S, History, Global History, Military History
Phone: 601-979-2503
E-mail: shannon.s.thames@jsums.edu

 

Staff

2016-09-232016-09-23valeriepurry3-thumbPurry, Dr. Valerie
Administrative Assistant
E-mail: valerie.a.purry@jsums.edu
Phone: 601-979-2179